Lessons from Skiing

It was so nice today and I was out skiing and thinking about what I might put in my Monday MLOG.  As I skied I wondered if there were some lessons I might learn from the wonderful activity I was doing.

First my mind went to the soul enriching renewal that was happening because I was in nature and in solitude.  My mind was quiet and I was able to actually listen to my thoughts and ponder any patterns that might be there in my over-filled mind.  Lesson?  Sometimes we have to provide time for students/teachers/staff to think and renew and get their thoughts in order.  What does that look like in a regular day?

Secondly, my mind went to the idea of the tracks I was following.  The rigidity of the ski tracks give me the freedom to develop my technique and to ski smoothly.  Lesson?  Sometimes we need to have rules or templates or boundaries in order to have the ability to develop creatively.

Okay – enough for this time!  I am sure there are more lessons out there, but they will have to wait for another MLOG.

Leave a Reply

